University of Genoa

Università di Genova

University of Genoa (UniGe), founded in 1481, is one of the oldest of the large European universities. Organized into 5 Schools and 22 Departments, as well as in 1 Excellence Center and 2 focused scientific research centers, it features more than 280 educational paths distributed in the campuses of Genoa, Imperia, Savona, and La Spezia.

Students can attend one of the 138 study programs, out of which 19 are instructed in English, also including double degrees with other universities worldwide.

They can also take advantage of more than 45 postgraduate schools, 25 first and second level masters, and 36 PhD courses. Furthermore, students can take advantage of the availability of the Genoa City Library system, whereby city and university libraries have been merged to guarantee a seamless access to all stored knowledge.

UniGe is one of the most renowned comprehensive, multidisciplinary, public university in Italy, with peaks of excellence in several scientific, technological, and cultural domains.

As a comprehensive university, research and didactic activities span various scientific, technological, and cultural branches. This is done in strong synergy with important local, national and international research institutions, world-renowned hospitals, and the results of research activities are exploited via a sustained interaction with the Industry, leading to the establishment of startup companies span out from research activities and the filling of international patents.